NaPoWriMo’s prompt for April 15th:

Write a poem in terza rima. This form was invented by Dante, and used in The Divine Comedy. It consists of three-line stanzas, with a “chained” rhyme scheme. The first stanza is ABA, the second is BCB, the third is CDC, and so on. No particular meter is necessary. One common way of ending a terza rima poem is with a single line standing on its own, rhyming with the middle line of the preceding three-line stanza.

At the four-way intersection I stop,
Through the windshield I stare,
Going left in my rear view I see a sea of blacktop.
Over the radio noise, “upward and onward” I declare.

As the distance increases the affliction lessens.Crossroads_done.jpg
Coming over the overpass I whisper a prayer
“Thank you for deliverance.”

© TNL, April 2014

 

