NaPoWriMo’s prompt for April 7th:
Write a love poem, but the object of the poem should be inanimate. You can write a love poem to your favorite pen, the teddy bear you had as a child, or anything else, so long as it’s not alive!

I create many things with you,
Some big and some small.
From the time we were introduce,
We’ve been stuck like glue.
From age 11 to now,
Our excursions have been countless.
A stress reliever you are,
Steady and silent in your comfort.
If I start with something heavy on my mind,
By the last double I’m in a free zone.
Your beautiful and colorful,
The possibilities with you are almost infinite.
Together with you we produce masterpieces,
Placing smiles on faces and
bringing happiness.
The potential of what we can create is endless,
You’re versatile and never careless.
Dark ones, light ones
All different colors of the rainbow.
Thin ones or fluffy ones,
The possibilities are all most infinite.
Fingering, worsted, or bulky,
The options are countless.
Weaving in and out of color,
Making beautiful knots,
Thick like fabric or airy like lace.
Flexible and universal makes me love you even more,
You come in all sizes from 2.25mm to 25 mm or B to S,
But, your my favorite K.
Not too big or too small,
You fit perfeclty in my hand.
Taught to me by my mother from her mother,
Makes you even more special.
Good background chatter and a ball of yarn,
Makes for a good setting to work magic.
Your my go to, K,
Your blue sleek metal never too far away.
A slip stich here, a chain up there,
Are the beginnings to anything.
What are you, K?
Your my crochet hook.

© TNL, April 2014

image

